Eurasian patents for industrial designs – a new possibility for applicants

The Eurasian system for protection of industrial designs was introduced on June 1, 2021 and initially covered five member states, such as the Republic of Azerbaijan, the Republic of Armenia, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Kyrgyzstan and the Republic of Kazakhstan. On 31 December 2021 the Republic of Belarus also joined the Protocol on the Protection of Industrial Designs to the Eurasian Patent Convention of September 9, 1994 (hereinafter the Protocol).